About Us

Te Awamutu Rugby Sports & Recreation Club boasts one of the biggest clubrooms in the Waikato with two bars, excellent changing rooms for teams and the best facilities for night games in the Waikato. Added to that is Albert Park which has five rugby fields which are also used for social twilight cricket, touch and Senior and Junior cricket over the summer.

Te Awamutu Rugby Sports & Recreation Club have some of the best facilities in the Waikato and they are now available for hire on a regular or a ‘one off’ basis? Being able to cater for so many different events is exciting for the staff as they strive to make the function or occasion as professional and hassle free as possible and that it exceeds all your expectations. Our Office Administrator, Linda Sprangers, will be more than happy to show you around the facilities and tailor an event that will suit all budgets Being only 90 minutes from 6 major centres gives ‘out of towners’ an opportunity to experience the friendly surrounds of Te Awamutu. For the local residents, it is an chance to work and play locally.

Club History

Te Awamutu Rugby Sports & Recreation Club Inc Inc was formed in 1990 by the amalgamation of two clubs. Te Awamutu Old Boys and Te Awamutu United were two clubs that were situated next door to each other and shared the same fields. This was done to strengthen Te Awamutu rugby which was suffering due to dwindling player numbers and too many clubs. As a result of the amalgamation, Te Awamutu Sports has given the area its only premier division rugby team and a focus for community involvement. 

Linda Sprangers
General Manager
Ryley Emery
Club Co-Ordinator
Ollie Ward
Community Sports Director
Sam Gibbens
Director Of Rugby
Vivian Brown-Tamaki
Program Facilitator
Mark has been a part of Te Awamutu Sports Club as a player, past chairman of senior rugby, currently on the senior rugby committee. Coached junior rugby along with Gwynn Shield, Goldfields and Bowers representative teams. Mark is a part owner and General
Mark Mc Naughton
Allan Bryant
Board member
Joe Sprangers
Board member
Lance Fielder
Board member
Willie Berkers
Board member
Ross Fleming
Board member
Tania Green
Board member
Nick Gold
Board member